Visa information

Spain does not require visas from EU/EEA citizens for stays of any duration or for any purpose. It has also agreement for visa exception with many countries, such as Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Guatemala, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Switzerland, Taiwan (only holder of passports which contain identity card number), Uruguay, USA or Venezuela. Citizens from those countries do not need a visa to enter and stay in Spain for up to 90 days.

Countries whose citizens will require a visa include the PR China, India, Iran, Pakistan, Russia, South Africa, and Turkey. You can check here the complete list of countries whose citizens do and don’t need a visa to enter Spain.

Further information about entry requirements can be found in here.

If you require an invitation letter for your visa application, you will be able to apply for it during the registration process. Alternatively, please contact the technical secretariat as soon as possible at with the subject Visa Application and the following information:

  • Full name, passport number and country of issue.
  • Institution and position held (PhD student, postdoc, staff, …)
  • Postal address.
  • Names and passport numbers of any accompanying person.


Parent page:
Local Information